Rocky Mountain National Park Timed Entry and Tours

Rocky Mountain National Park needs a $2 timed-entry permit on Recreation.gov from 9 am to 2 pm between May 22 and October 12, 2026, and from 5 am to 6 pm for Bear Lake Road through October 18. Permits are released monthly at 8 am MDT and the evening before at 7 pm, and the entrance fee is $30 per vehicle for one day or $35 for seven days. Tours and tickets from resellers start at $129.79 on Viator (8 compared, checked October 19, 2026).

Timed entry
$2 permit, 9 am–2 pm, May 22 to Oct 12, 2026
Bear Lake Road
5 am–6 pm through Oct 18
Vehicle pass
$30 for 1 day, $35 for 7 days
Released
Monthly at 8 am MDT, and 7 pm the night before
Open today
All Day (National Park Service)

Rocky Mountain National Park tours compared

The 8 most-reviewed Rocky Mountain National Park tours and tickets on Viator, with starting prices for one adult. Some of these tours are fully sold out on up to 14 of the next 14 days, so book ahead.

TourFromvs officialRatingEntrance fee includedHotel pickupBook
Discover Rocky Mountain National Park-Small Group Tour & Picnic$215.007.2×4.9 (3,510 reviews)yesnot statedSee on Viator
Rocky Mountain National Park in Summer Tour from Denver$169.005.6×4.9 (923 reviews)yesnot statedSee on Viator
Rocky Mountain National Park Guided Hiking Adventure$215.007.2×4.9 (675 reviews)yesnot statedSee on Viator
Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park Tour from Denver Winter and Spring$149.005.0×4.9 (611 reviews)yesyesSee on Viator
Rocky Mountain National Park Guided Small Group Tour$179.006.0×4.9 (498 reviews)noyesSee on Viator
The Rocky Mountain National Park Safari Tour$129.794.3×4.9 (429 reviews)nonot statedSee on Viator
Private and Personalized Three Hour Morning Tour of Rocky Mountain National Park$166.005.5×5.0 (173 reviews)noyesSee on Viator
Private Three Hour Afternoon Custom Tour of Rocky Mountain National Park$166.005.5×5.0 (161 reviews)not statedyesSee on Viator

Prices from Viator, checked October 19, 2026. "Not stated" means the tour listing doesn't say; read it before you book. Prices change by date.

Getting there

Around Rocky Mountain National Park:

  • No train, subway or light-rail station within 1 mile — most people drive, take a rideshare or a bus.
  • 4 public parking lots and garages within 0.6 miles
  • Closest airports: Denver International (DEN) 58.5 mi

Straight-line distances from the venue. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Official ticket types and prices

Prices as published by the official seller. “See official site” means the seller only shows that price when you book.

Ticket Adult What you get
1-Day Vehicle Pass USD 30.00 per vehicle One private vehicle, one day
7-Day Vehicle Pass USD 35.00 per vehicle One vehicle, 7 consecutive days
1-Day / 7-Day Motorcycle Pass USD 25.00 (1 day) / USD 30.00 (7 days) Up to 2 private, non-commercial motorcycles with up to 4 total passengers
1-Day / 7-Day Per Person Pass USD 15.00 (1 day) / USD 20.00 (7 days) Individuals, walk-ins, bicycles, non-commercial groups
Rocky Mountain Annual Park Pass USD 70.00 Entry to RMNP only for 1 year
Nonresident fee (2026) USD 100.00 per person, in addition to entrance fee Required surcharge for non-US residents
Timed Entry / Timed Entry+ Bear Lake Road reservation USD 2.00 non-refundable Recreation.gov processing fee per reservation A 2-hour entry window; stay as long as you like once inside

Reservations and timed entry

Timed Entry: 9 a.m.-2 p.m. daily, May 22-October 12, 2026. Timed Entry+ Bear Lake Road: 5 a.m.-6 p.m., May 22-October 18, 2026. Outside those dates/hours no reservation is needed (entrance pass still required). Recreation.gov (recreation.gov/timed-entry/10086910), Recreation.gov app, or 877-444-6777; not at entrance stations or visitor centers Monthly at 8 a.m. MDT: May 1 (May 22-June 30), June 1 (July), July 1 (August), August 1 (September), September 1 (October 1-18); additional reservations at 7 p.m. MDT the night before arrival USD 2 non-refundable processing fee; reservations non-refundable and non-transferable; holder must be in the vehicle with photo ID and QR code Entry before 9 a.m. or after 2 p.m. (except Bear Lake Road 5 a.m.-6 p.m.); Aspenglen, Glacier Basin and Moraine Park campers (from 1 p.m. on first day); Timber Creek campers (not Bear Lake Road); wilderness overnight permit holders; horseback ride reservations; commercial tours/CUA holders; bicycle visitors. Standard timed entry season ended Oct 12; Timed Entry+ Bear Lake Road runs through Oct 18, 2026.

When tickets sell out

The 7 p.m. MDT day-before release of additional reservations ‘sell out quickly’.

Discounts and free entry

Children under 16 do not need an entrance pass. 2026 fee-free days are for US citizens and residents only. Free Interagency Access Pass for qualifying US citizens/permanent residents with permanent disabilities.

Opening hours

Open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, weather permitting (entrance fee required at all hours). Trail Ridge Road is closed to through travel from mid-October to late May.

Travel tips

  • Denver to Estes Park via Boulder/Hwy 36: 66 mi (106 km), about 1.5-2 hours.
  • Denver via Hwy 66: 71 mi, 1.5-2 hours; via Peak to Peak Scenic Byway: 108 mi, 2.5-3 hours.
  • West side (Grand Lake) from I-70 west of Denver: 61 mi, 1.5-2 hours via US 40 and US 34.
  • Denver International Airport (DEN) is the closest major airport; no public transport from the airport to the park (commercial shuttles run to Estes Park).

Accessibility

Beaver Meadows Visitor Center has a braille and large-print park map; a 48-page Access Guide is available at visitor centers. Vault toilets have grab bars. Free Interagency Access Pass for qualifying US citizens/permanent residents.

Before you go

  • Timed entry reservations are sold only on Recreation.gov and are non-transferable; the holder must be in the vehicle with photo ID, so resold reservations will not work.
  • Non-US residents aged 16+ pay a USD 100 nonresident fee on top of the entrance fee in 2026 unless holding an annual pass.
  • Trail Ridge Road closes to through travel from mid-October to late May.
  • Reservations are non-refundable.

Best time to visit

Crowds peak late spring through fall and on winter weekends. Entering before 9 a.m. or after 2 p.m. avoids the need for a standard timed entry reservation during the season.

Good to know

Do I need a timed entry reservation for Rocky Mountain National Park?
In 2026, yes from May 22 to October 12 between 9 a.m. and 2 p.m., and for Bear Lake Road from 5 a.m. to 6 p.m. through October 18. Outside those dates and hours, only an entrance pass is needed.
How much does it cost to enter Rocky Mountain National Park?
USD 30 for a 1-day vehicle pass or USD 35 for 7 days; USD 15/20 per person on foot or bike. Children under 16 do not need a pass.
Is there an extra fee for international visitors?
Yes. Since 2026, each non-US resident aged 16 and older pays a USD 100 nonresident fee in addition to the entrance fee, unless they hold an Annual or America the Beautiful pass.
When are timed entry reservations released?
On the 1st of each month at 8 a.m. MDT on Recreation.gov for the following period, plus additional reservations at 7 p.m. MDT the night before, which sell out quickly. The reservation fee is USD 2.
Is Trail Ridge Road open in October?
Trail Ridge Road closes to through travel from mid-October to late May; check the park's Roads page for current status.
How far is Rocky Mountain National Park from Denver?
About 66 miles (1.5-2 hours) to the Estes Park side via Boulder and US 36.
How do I get to Rocky Mountain National Park by public transit?
There is no train, subway or light-rail station within 1 mile of Rocky Mountain National Park and no bus stop close by, so most people drive or take a rideshare.
What is the closest airport to Rocky Mountain National Park?
The closest airport with scheduled flights is Denver International (DEN), 58.5 mi away in a straight line.
Is there parking near Rocky Mountain National Park?
Yes. OpenStreetMap shows 4 public parking lots and garages within 0.6 miles. Event-day prices are usually higher, and many lots can be booked ahead.

Sources: nps.gov, recreation.gov, nps.gov: fees. Official facts checked October 17, 2026.