Diamond Head Hike Reservations
Non-residents need a reservation to hike Diamond Head: entry costs $5 per person and parking $10 per vehicle, card only, booked up to 30 days ahead. Children 3 and under are free, Hawaiʻi residents with ID don't pay, and the last entry slot is at 4 pm. Tours and tickets from resellers start at $35.00 on Viator (8 compared, checked October 17, 2026).
- Entry
- $5 per person (non-residents)
- Parking
- $10 per vehicle, card only
- Reservations
- Up to 30 days ahead; arrive within 30 minutes of your slot
- Hours
- 6 am to 6 pm, last slot 4 pm
Diamond Head State Monument tours compared
The 8 most-reviewed Diamond Head State Monument tours and tickets on Viator, with starting prices for one adult. Some of these tours are fully sold out on up to 1 of the next 14 days, so book ahead.
| Tour | From | vs official | Rating | Entry included | Hotel pickup | Book |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Diamond Head Hiking Tour with Tickets and Shuttle Included | $35.00 | 7.0× | 4.8 (1,017 reviews) | not stated | not stated | See on Viator |
| Diamond Head Hike Shuttle with Reservation Tickets Included | $39.99 | 8.0× | 4.8 (675 reviews) | yes | yes | See on Viator |
| Diamond Head Hiking and Oahu Circle Island Tour feat. North Shore | $112.50 | 22.5× | 4.8 (333 reviews) | yes | yes | See on Viator |
| Diamond Head Bike to Hike and Local Lunch | $169.00 | 33.8× | 4.9 (183 reviews) | yes | not stated | See on Viator |
| Diamond Head Hiking Tour with Ticket and Reservation Inclusion | $50.00 | 10.0× | 4.7 (180 reviews) | not stated | not stated | See on Viator |
| Electric Bike Ride & Diamond Head Hike Tour | $199.00 | 39.8× | 5.0 (132 reviews) | not stated | not stated | See on Viator |
| Diamond Head Electric Bike Scenic Tour | $159.00 | 31.8× | 5.0 (50 reviews) | not stated | not stated | See on Viator |
| Half-Day Hiking Tour to Diamond Head and Makapuu Lighthouse | $70.99 | 14.2× | 4.8 (29 reviews) | yes | not stated | See on Viator |
Prices from Viator, checked October 17, 2026. "Not stated" means the tour listing doesn't say; read it before you book. Prices change by date.
Getting there
Around Diamond Head State Monument:
- No train, subway or light-rail station within 1 mile — most people drive, take a rideshare or a bus.
- 15 public parking lots and garages within 0.6 miles
- Closest airports: Daniel K. Inouye International (HNL) 8.6 mi
Directions in Google Maps · View on OpenStreetMap
Straight-line distances from the venue. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Events near Diamond Head State Monument in the next two weeks
- Cirque du Soleil – `Auana · Sat, Oct 17, 5:30 pm · from $135.85
- Cirque du Soleil – 'Auana · Fri, Oct 23, 5:30 pm · from $119.71
Official ticket types and prices
Prices as published by the official seller. “See official site” means the seller only shows that price when you book.
| Ticket | Adult | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Walk-in entry (non-resident) | $5 | Entry for a timed reservation slot to hike the summit trail |
| Parking (non-resident, per vehicle) | $10 per vehicle | Parking during your reservation period |
Reservations and timed entry
Required for all non-residents (entry and parking). Book up to 30 days ahead at gostateparks.hawaii.gov/diamondhead. Reservations start at 6:00 am; last reservation 4:00 pm (enter by 4:30 pm). Arrive within the first 30 minutes of your slot. Refunds up to 3 days before entry; a $5 cancellation fee plus service fees may apply. People without a reservation are turned away.
When tickets sell out
The park ‘may sell out’ at busy times; book early.
Discounts and free entry
Hawaiʻi residents with valid Hawaiʻi ID are exempt from the fee/reservation requirement. Children 3 and under are free.
Opening hours
6:00 am-6:00 pm daily; all visitors must exit by 6:00 pm.
How long to plan
0.8-mile steep hike each way to the summit; allow 1.5-2 hours – the reservation FAQ says the hike typically takes 60-90 minutes.
Travel tips
- Drive to the crater via the tunnel off Diamond Head Road; parking needs its own reservation ($10).
- Walk-in or drop-off visitors buy entry only ($5).
- Tour operators must use the commercial permit system.
- Public bus/rideshare details not verified.
Accessibility
Trail is steep and strenuous; entry tickets are required even if you are not hiking. No other accessibility details on the official pages.
Before you go
- No reservation = turned away (except Hawaiʻi residents with ID).
- Late arrival (after the first 30 minutes) may be refused, with no refund.
- No refunds for weather unless the park officially closes.
- Book only on the official state site.
Best time to visit
Book early; the park can sell out.
Good to know
Do I need a reservation for Diamond Head?
How much does Diamond Head cost?
How far ahead can I book Diamond Head?
What are Diamond Head's hours?
How long is the Diamond Head hike?
Can I get a refund?
How do I get to Diamond Head State Monument by public transit?
What is the closest airport to Diamond Head State Monument?
Is there parking near Diamond Head State Monument?
Sources: dlnr.hawaii.gov, gostateparks.hawaii.gov. Official facts checked October 17, 2026.